Subscibe Our Newsletter

Move your mouse over me

Follow Us
advertise with us


Seven Great Virtues

Prop: "Cub-a-labra" with 7 candles, preferably using the 7 rays of the AOL as candleholders.

Tonight we gather to honor (# of Scouts receiving award) Webelos Scouts that have earned the highest award in Cub Scouting: The Arrow of Light.  These Scouts have worked very hard over the last two years to earn this prestigious award, and demonstrate that they understand the purpose of Scouting.  The seven candles before you represent the rays in the Arrow of Light.  These seven rays stand for the seven great virtues of life...virtues that a Webelos Scout must have if they are to succeed and advance in Scouting and in life.  For younger Scouts, living by and using these 7 great virtues will help you achieve much on your trail upward to the Arrow of Light.

A Scout has WISDOM (light candle #1) Having wisdom doesn't mean that a Scout is smarter than others.  It means that he uses what he knows to live a better life -- to be a good example for other people, young and old, Scouts and others, family and friends.

A Scout has COURAGE (light candle #2) Having courage doesn't mean that you're never afraid -- very courageous people are often afraid.  However, facing danger despite your fear is the act of a brave, courageous Scout.

A Scout has SELF-CONTROL (light candle #3) Scouts have to know when to stop.  When you can stop yourself when you have had enough or done enough of something -- enough eating, enough playing, or even enough working -- then you have self-control.  Know what behavior is correct in each situation, and do it.  When you have self-control, you are growing up as a Scout.

A Scout gives JUSTICE (light candle #4) Justice is part of the Pledge of Allegiance: "with liberty and justice for all"/  Justice is being fair with others that we go to school with, work and play with.  Justice means it doesn't matter who the person is, or what color they are, or what they do...Scouts are fair to everyone.

A Scout has FAITH (light candle #5) Scouts believe in God.  Faith means that we believe in God and other things we cannot see.  When you know God exists in your heart, you have faith.

A Scout has HOPE (light candle #6) Hope means you look forward to good things that you believe will happen.  You hope for better things tomorrow, but you work hard today to make those good things happen.

A Scout has LOVE (light candle #7) Scouts have many kinds of love.  Love of family, home, your fellow Scouts, God and country are all a part of Scouting.  Every kind of love is important for a full and happy life.

You will find that if you life by these seven virtues, you will be happy and will make the people around you happy as well.  The Webelos Scouts before us this evening have proven that they understand their responsibilities as good sons and good Scouts.  With the help of their willing parents, they will advance far along the Boy Scout Trail.  Congratulations, Scouts.

Please Share!

Other Pages you May Like



Forgot Password     Signup


About | Sitemap | Advertise | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms Of Service | Cookie Policy

Helping Scout leaders one resource at a time...

Managed by SRsquare and Generously hosted by ServerWarp

Materials found on the InsaneScouter's Website © 1998 - 2019 may be reproduced and used by all Scouting volunteers for anything consistent with Scouting and Guiding Organizations. Unless otherwise noted on the page. If you believe we are republishing your copyrighted material without permission, please Contact Us including the link/url to have it removed or your copyright information added.

Please be advised that InsaneScouter is NOT affiliated with any Scouting or Guiding Organization.

All opinions expressed on these pages are those of the original authors. All holdings are subject to this Disclaimer.